Reviews of Beatrix Wadded Waterproof Coat Mustard

Love the design colour and fit. Perfect for walking out

14/10/2021

I havent been able to wear this coat yet as it is a cold wet day coat. However I am sure that it will come up to my expectations. The sleeves are a bit too long for me and I would have preferred there to have been a drawstring at the waist to pull it in a bit but I am sure that it will come up trumps.

12/10/2021

Love the colour, quality and style

12/10/2021

I wanted a autumn/spring weight waterproof coat for my walk to work and to walk the dog in and this is spot on. I ordered a size down, based on reviews and it’s a pretty good fit. Slightly more roomy than I’d like but means I can fit layers under it when the weather gets colder. Lots of people said the arms were long but as I’m tall, they’re just right for me. Haven’t been caught in a downpour yet so not sure how waterproof it is.

12/10/2021

I used the size guide and when it arrived its a really good fit. It's nice and warm and kept me dry while I was out and about in the rain.

12/10/2021

A great fit, true to size. One little thing, the sleeve inside was not sewn properly. Overall very happy and a good price.

11/10/2021

Best coat I have ever had. Stylish, waterproof and warm. Great for everyday autumnal/winter days. Lovely big pockets and a nicely fitting hood.

11/10/2021

Have yet to test out real winter conditions. It's comfortable and warm and the choice of buttons for quick closure or a zip for keeping it shut from top to bottom is great

11/10/2021

Good fit except for the sleeves which are very long , l had to roll them up and make a cuff. Very nice deep pockets

10/10/2021

I was so sad at having to return the coat. It's lovely and the lining and button detail make it special. I ordered a 10 as the reviews said the sizes were generous. The sleeves came down to my fingers and the coat felt heavy when I tried it on.

08/10/2021

Great colour,great fit,right length,warm without being heavy. Been looking for the right coat for 2 years,thank you.

06/10/2021

Love this coat. Ordered 18 as I know I will be wearing layers beneath in winter. It was huge. Quickly exchanged for a 16 which is great. Only slight minus - would have been great if the pockets could have had side hand warming opening too. Coat is warm and waterproof - it’s been tested.

04/10/2021

Very good quality coat really like it warm in the cold and dry in the rain

04/10/2021

Just perfect for the cooler weather up here in the mountains where I live

29/09/2021

Beautifully made jacket in a great colour. Comes up slightly large so took notice of other reviews and got a size smaller. Fits great. As other reviewers have mentioned the sleeves are long, but not an issue as I can easily alter them.

27/09/2021

Very pleased with this coat. Followed previous reviews and ordered size smaller (10) than my usual (12) and it's a perfect fit. Love the colour also !

27/09/2021

I wanted a warm waterproof winter coat that I could wear round town not just for dog walking. I love the colour and the big contrast buttons but it has a warm lining and sensible hood so this coat ticks every box. I already have a lighter weight shower proof coat from Weird fish which is much loved. I feel this will be a favourite too for some time to come.

24/09/2021

Lovely coat, cant wait to wear it in colder weather !

23/09/2021

Great fit after following the online size guide. Not too heavy and lovely quality. Not been out in the rain yet!

20/09/2021

I love this coat, it’s perfect for long walks in any weather. Waterproof, warm but lightweight and looks great too. I’m a size 10 -12, and a size 10 was just the right fit for me.

17/09/2021

This coat is really great. I love the style and shape and it’s nice and warm without being too bulky. The inside pocket is large and really useful and the stripy lining of the coat is nice. The hood is a good fit without being too big and the finishings on the coat eg the different coloured buttons and fish shaped zipper pull are lovely, I was really pleased to receive this coat in the sale and have worn it a few times already this past month. However, it may have just been a one off issue, but the coat I received was not finished off properly and needed me to sew the lining of the sleeves to the cuff. Not what would be expected of a garment with a price tag of £100. I was offered a refund but decided to keep the coat and fix it myself as there was no others available. Because of this issue I have given only 4 stars and will review further orders for quality before deciding on being a regular customer or not.

19/03/2021

Lovely coat but too big even in a smaller size so sadly returned.

28/02/2021

Great mac in a nice cheerful colour, well padded, warm & stylish. Long sleeves! Size down, I'm a 16 & needed a 14.!

25/02/2021

Fits true to size, warm, definitely waterproof, good size pockets, doesn’t feel heavy on. Perfect for dog walking.

23/02/2021

Absolutely lovely coat, ideal for the cold damp windy weather, nice length keeps you cosy.

11/02/2021

I am really pleased with this purchase. The coat is waterproof, warm and stylish.

08/02/2021

Great quality.

03/02/2021

Lovely coat - exactly as described - superb quality, thank you!!

26/01/2021

Bought for my wife and she is happy with every aspect of the item. Stylish but functional.

26/01/2021

Lovely quality, looks great, the small details made the coat. Unfortunately, it was massive on me. Usually size 14-16 dress size so went for the larger. I'm very disappointed as they no longer have size 14

10/01/2021

The coat was just what I wanted, however my usual size is 10 and the coat was huge. Other reviews has said the coat came up larger than expected but no size 8 was available so I took a chance. Unfortunately the coat went straight back.

10/01/2021

This is a great coat. It’s a bit long in the sleeve but that’s down to my short arms. Generously sized so I’m pleased I didn’t order bigger to enable layering. It’s cosy, warm and waterproof and stylish too.

10/01/2021

I am going to have to get a different jacket as this is not waterproof and has already lost buttons and the lining is already bobbling up. It is also larger in larger is size than it should be. Very disappointed.

03/01/2021

Would have kept this coat but it came up on the large size, just hoping they have a smaller size in stock!

03/01/2021

I have mixed feelings about this coat... Pros: -it looks great and fits nicely (I’m usually a 10/12 and the 12 is perfect) - good weight of warmth for waking in - keeps you warm but not too hot once you get moving - pockets on the outside are good size and also as they’re attached on the outside they don’t make you look fat when full of stuff! Cons: - it is a mud-magnet! For some reason cannot wipe mud off it and leaves a nasty stain - have had to put it through the washing machine a couple of times already (with Tech-wash) - with most waterproof coats can just use a damp cloth to get it off - the hood could do with being a bit bigger

29/12/2020

This is a really comfortable, warm and trendy coat. The first time I wore it, it’s waterproof properties were proven. I managed to tip half a cup of coffee over myself outdoors and the coffee just ran off the coat and with a serviette I just wiped the rest off leaving no trace. Very impressed.

22/12/2020

Absolutely love it! Keeps me warm without being too heavy. One of the only coats I’ve ever had that the hood stays up. Very well made and fab colour. I’ve had loads of compliments. Well worth the money, great value. Thank you Weird Fish! :)

13/12/2020

Excellent product. Does come up big, ordered a 12 and had to exchange for a 10. Only critism is the sleeves are still too long but i will be able to fold them over without ruining the look of the coat. Lightweight for a waxed coat and i love the striped lining. The length is very good too for keeping you warm and dry. Definately pleased with my purchase

11/12/2020

very nice and well waterproof

08/12/2020

Well finshed, it looks great and looks smart

05/12/2020

On the basis of other reviews I ordered size 12 which otherwise I might have suspected would be too snug. It is perfect and I can manage an extra layer underneath as well. Sleeves a tad on the long side but once there’s a crease at the elbow that’ll take care of that. Good size pockets. A great coat for dog walking. I like the slightly longer length to mid thigh. Only slight disappointment was that the zip is not two-way.

05/12/2020

Lovely coat , warm waterproof and stylish

01/12/2020

Never used this company before but I would highly recommend them.

30/11/2020

Stylish and comfortable - the perfect hiking gear

29/11/2020

Lovely coat but too big and the smaller size was out of stock, shamw

28/11/2020

Good price and quality. Out of many items bought this year, this was a bit on the large size. Sleeves very long. Have kept as a good dog walking coat. Water and wind proof.

27/11/2020

Nice looking coat . Keeps me dry on my long dog walks . Also warm & a good length. Buttons a bit stiff to start but after time they will soften up .

27/11/2020

Great fit and quality

26/11/2020

Absolutely love the coat Beautiful colour Only down point creases from being packaged up

26/11/2020

Really light in weight bought it to take dog out really windproof & waterproof exactly what I needed

26/11/2020

Best Coat l have ever had...

25/11/2020

This coat was great quality great price but unfortunately it was too long and the sleeves far too long for me so had to return same as I am a small frame.

25/11/2020

Really good quality, well made coat. Looks great.

25/11/2020

Great quality keeps me lovely and warm and dry

23/11/2020

Warm and a lovely fit great design

22/11/2020

Really pleased I purchased this coat. The lining makes it lovely and warm without being too bulky. The arms are a really good length as usually find coat arms are a little on the short side. I am 5f8" and size 14 - 16 - I purchased the size 14 and it fits perfectly, it sits about 4 inches above my knee, is very comfortable and looks great. Definitely recommend.

21/11/2020

This coat is of a very good quality and will be very warm & comfy to wear. It has the added bonus of being waterproof as it has a waxed finish. I ordered a size 14 which is my usual size but had to return as it was too big. The size 12 fits great.

21/11/2020

I am loving this coat. It's an interesting design with the brightly coloured lining and different coloured buttons. The waxed finish and the warm lining make it highly practical and it really does keep the wind and rain at bay. I agree with other reviewers who have said that the coat comes up a bit big. I regard myself as a stock size 14 but the 14 coat really was too big all over. Swapped it for a 12 and it's perfect. With 20% off in the sale, great value for money too. Fast delivery and very good service from WF.

19/11/2020

Great quality and keeps me lovely and warm and dry

18/11/2020

Great quality keeps me lovely and warm and dry

18/11/2020

Perfect for chilly autumn days

17/11/2020

I'm so pleased with my recent purchase from Weird Fish. The coat I bought (the Beatrix Waxed Finish Waterproof Coat) is excellent quality, warm and cosy. It's definitely waterproof too so it's passed that test as well! I ordered a size larger than I would normally have as I wanted extra room underneath for a big jumper and layers. The coat is nice and long too and covers my backside so it's perfect for windy and wet winter walks. If I could change one thing, I'd add some handwarmer pockets in addition to the front flap pockets. Overall, I love it!

17/11/2020

Lovely colour and fitted well. True to size. Snugly and warm.

16/11/2020

Great Winter coat and nicely padded but not too bulky, good pockets, nice length, great styling and love the wax waterproofing.

10/11/2020

Good quality coat. I always buy a bigger size coat but didn't need with this fabulous coat. Very cosy.

09/11/2020

I love this coat! I’m a curvy lady and have tried so many light but waterproof coats on. Wasn’t holding out much hope again but this coat is perfect. It’s wind proof and very waterproof and comes down to mid thigh on me so is keeping me nice and dry. It’s well-fitted without being tight or too loose and was just what I was looking for. Very happy customer

08/11/2020

This is a lovely coat. Unlike many waxed coats, this is light. It is well made and a lovely colour. The sleeves are overly long, but can be turned up or in.

06/11/2020

Lovely coat, fits perfectly and it’s so warm.

05/11/2020

Lovely coat that is both warm and waterproof. Would recommend.

05/11/2020

Lovely coat, nice colour not quite as vivid as illustrations. Had to return as too big and zip at neckline would catch on my chin.

05/11/2020

This is a really good jacket It’s warm, comfortable and a good fit Ideally for walking I am 5ft 3 so it’s a bit longer in length on me and is just above the knee

03/11/2020

Usually I would give 5 stars. Only 4 as this coat was terribly creased and had to be carefully stream ironed before I could wear it. Fabulous quality though, warm and comfortable and very pleased with the 20% off.

02/11/2020

I bought a size 10 although sometimes I would buy a size 12 top, as reviews said it came up large. However it was still far too big, sleeves too long and generally felt swamped in it. A shame as quite nice design. Sent it back.

29/10/2020

I absolutely love this coat. The colour is lovely and makes me smile. After reading reviews I went a size down. Fits perfectly.

27/10/2020

Just what I was looking forward. Perfect length. Trulywaterproof. Love the colour

26/10/2020

Based on the sizing guide I ordered a size 10 (usually an 8). It fits rather large but I couldn’t return it for exchange as there weren’t any size 8 left in stock, plus I’d lose out on the sale price! It’s a lovely well-made warm coat and so far proven to be waterproof although I’ve not needed to wear in torrential rain yet. Colour is less “burnt“ than actual orange so I’ll definitely be seen on dark mornings and evenings!

26/10/2020

great fit, prompt delivery

25/10/2020

Lovely quality coat, great features, nice lining and nicely finished. However arms were a bit long and the size 8 was too large all over on me so therefore returned. Also wasnt keen on the patch pockets. No issues with the coats quality or value for money, it just wasnt for me.

25/10/2020

Ordered size down as read other reviews so 12 instead 14. Normally go for dark safe colour coats but absolutes love this burnt orange colour. Not quite as in the picture - but better Sleeves rather long but that wasn't enough of a reason to return it. Perfect length as covers my skirts. Love it!! K

24/10/2020

Lovely quality coat. Love the colour. Other reviews state this coat comes up large and the arms are long which it very true but the actual quality and comfort is great. Also got it for a very good price.

23/10/2020

I love it, it is just what I wanted. I like that the hood is not too large so it doesn't keep falling off or over your face. I like that it is lovely and warm, ideal for winter. and it looks good as well.

23/10/2020

Lovely coat but the sleeves were far too long. Unfortunately I had to return it.

19/10/2020

Great colour, warm coat. Very happy with quality.

19/10/2020

A stylish well made coat which will be ideal for the wet weather.It came up rather large for my normal size so I returned it and requested a smaller size

16/10/2020

Just great I have a size 10 which is per

14/10/2020

Lovely warm coat, very well made, but unfortunately had to return as far too big.. just swamped me.

13/10/2020

Lovely coat, vibrate colour, only criticism is the arm lengths were extremely long,

11/10/2020

Love my coat , right length did go a size down after reading other reviews. Generally happy good service from weird fish thanks .

11/10/2020

Lovely colour and a perfect fit. My wife loves it. And it's very waterproof.

09/10/2020

Excellent product

17/04/2019

Bought a size smaller than normal after reading previous reviews. Fitted well apart from the sleeves which were about 4” too long. As I paid a low price in the sale and like the coat, I’m happy to spend time altering them. If I’d paid the full price I would probably have returned the garment.

15/04/2019

This great.

08/04/2019

Excellent fit and quality.

02/04/2019

this looked great in the book but i was dissatisfied with the quality when it arrived

25/03/2019

Lovely detail on the jacket. It’s warm and waterproof, mid thigh length with longer sleeves which is ideal for school run. Very nice jacket. I ordered the 12 after reading the reviews, normally Id order a 14 so I can drive easily in it and wear a jumper under the coat but this is plenty big enough. Great product!

19/03/2019

Excellent product, does exactly as it says

18/03/2019

Sleeves are slightly long, but great fit otherwise

15/03/2019

I am a standard size 10 but was swamped by this coat. It is a shame as really need a warm waterproof longer coat.

15/03/2019

Lovely waterproof coat, unfortunately had to return it, as I purchased a size 12 normally I'm a 14 have requested an exchange for a size 10 so hope it fits.

06/03/2019

Good length ( I am 5'9") so will keep tops of legs dry when it rains. Length of sleeve excellent as is style and finish of the jacket. Good depth of hood with nice lining.

20/02/2019

As reviews suggested, the sizing is not perfect - I am a 14 and bought size 12,which fits well, but in every other respect - a brilliant product.I haven't tested the fact it is waterproof yet, but feel confident it is!!

20/02/2019

Fabric, design and construction are all top quality. An absolute bargain water-proof coat.

19/02/2019

Good length, well made, lovely feel and look.

18/02/2019

Excellent value and well made. Used Weird Fish sizing chart but found sizing a bit generous.

14/02/2019

Lovely smart coat. Sixe perfect

13/02/2019

Lovely style good quality and perfect fit.

12/02/2019

Great Jacket Very well made and warm . I am short just 5ft 1 so sleeves were a bit long but easy to fold back. This resulting in losing button detail but still looked good Good fit slightly generous which you want with a jacket Very happy with and would totally recommend

11/02/2019

Lovely coat. Great length. Pockets nice and deep. Inside pocket great for keeping phone safe on dog walk. Very warm. Didn't need jumper on beneath it. Great price.

11/02/2019

lovely coat roomy without looking bulky would recommend

07/02/2019

I had to size down to a 12 (normally 14) for this and still roomy but am very happy with the quality and warmth of the jacket.

06/02/2019

Size perfect fit. The size 12 i had ordered my daughter had.

31/01/2019

Perfect for dog walking. Very comfy and still wearable with a jumper on underneath.

30/01/2019

A really lovely warm and waterproof coat just what i was looking for, the only tiny criticism is the sleeve length being too long but that's it. i bought size 10 and i can easily wear a thick jumper under the coat so for me the sizing is just right.

29/01/2019

This item was a little big so reordered by phone. Service great and dilivery very quick.

28/01/2019

A lovely quality coat but the 14 was massive. Great length, warm and waterproof. I like it so much I’ll exchange for a 12.

24/01/2019

Lovely jacket but too big, ordered again in a size 12 which fits perfectly (I normally wear a 14 from other stores). Nice and warm pockets a good size and perfect for wintry weather.

24/01/2019

Nice length, wind proof and very warm

23/01/2019

Wonderful coat

23/01/2019

It's a lovely coat, and I was lucky enough to buy in the sale. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 is simply because the sleeves were too long, and the design didn't make shortening very easy. I did it though as I wanted to keep the coat.

23/01/2019

Love this coat! Great fit and nice and warm.

21/01/2019

Nice coat I ordered a 12 and it’s more like a 14

17/01/2019

This jacket is warm and fits well the only thing i feel it could do with is elasticated storm cuff inside sleeve. Overall very good. Great length i am 5'4 and it come to behind my knees. Great for wet windy weather

16/01/2019

Very poor quality

13/01/2019

I just want a size 10 replacement any comment.?

11/01/2019

This coat has some nice features such as the small hood (when the rain is coming in horizontal you don't want a flapping hood!) and the wadding gives a layer of protection without too much weight or heat. However I found the sleeves too long and overall I looked like a massive marshmallow in it so sadly it was returned!

10/01/2019

Unfortunately the item I ordered was too big so I had to return it. Very good quality though

31/12/2018

Fantastic.

17/12/2018

Coat is very smart an practical totally waterproof, not bulky at all, I chose to buy a size smaller than normal going by other reviews they where right but I can still wear jumper underneath too. Normally I’m a 12 purchased 10 perfect I’m 5ft 2 coat is just above my knee perfect. Hood is good an practical tightens with drawstring.

14/12/2018

Sleeves are long but I was able to turn the long cuff back by 50% so it was fine. I purchased this size even though it is a bit big but will allow for thick jumpers. The hood is a sensible size and overall I am pleased with it. Being padded is an added benefit. Cannot comment on how waterproof it is as I haven't worn it in heavy rain.

12/12/2018

Strange shaped coat. Very big and shapeless, very wide at the bottom. Could do with a drawstring at the waist otherwise could be very draughty! Way too big. Had to return along with Greta denim dress which was far too small! Come on Weird Fish, sort out your sizings. Please.

06/12/2018

I am so pleased with this coat. I used the size guide as I wanted to be able to wear thick clothes underneath. It fits really well. I love the length of it as it is longer than most jackets. It is lovely and warm without being bulky.

02/12/2018

Fantastic coat, fits well and is warm and waterproof

30/11/2018

I am disappointed with my product - a waxed Mackintosh. It seems thinly waxed so I'm not sure how long it will last for. The buttonholes are very flimsy, likewise I don't see them lasting long. The hood is a bit shallow in the fit. My mac looks nice but I wish it was better made.

29/11/2018

This is my new favourite winter coat. Initially was sceptical about the thickness, but it's been 5°c and I have been just right. I'm an 18 but 16 was just right. The pockets are deep, phone and purse/keys together, yet to use the inside one. Would recommend.

28/11/2018

Great wax coat, warm & waterproof. Unfortunately the buttonholes let it down as they are sliced and unfinished with thread. Got in the sale and would have sent it back if I had paid the original price.

27/11/2018

A smart coat which is very padded but still manages to be lightweight and doesn’t feel bulky on. Lovely and warm. Great quality.

27/11/2018

Lovely warm waterproof jack

27/11/2018

Slightly bigger than i had expected - would probably go for a smaller size next time but the quality is great.

27/11/2018

Cosy and waterproof - such a rare find!

23/11/2018

Coat as advertised. Good quality, warm and waterproof.

22/11/2018

It is a good length, very cosy, and even in the colder days I don't need extra layers under it. Also being cotton it keeps me warm without getting sweaty if I'm walking fast. Only slight issue is high front zip fastening above chin level - I know this is a popular style and keeps the wind out, but for me it rubs against the right side of my face although it doesn't touch the other side.

21/11/2018

Lovely coat which is a really good fit, i am between a 14/16 so plenty of room to wear a sweater underneath and the arm length is really good as i have long arms.

21/11/2018

Lovely quality fabric. Great styling. The hood works well with the cord fastening and the sleeves are fabulously long. I am very pleased with my purchase. A small improvement would be side pockets. I miss being able to put my hands in pockets to warm them. One cannot do this with button fastening front pockets, as pretty as they look.

20/11/2018

it is well made but unfortunately it didn't suit me It looks like it will be very good in rain

19/11/2018

it is well made but unfortunately it didn't suit me It looks like it will be very good in rain

19/11/2018

I should have ordered smaller size as I’ve embarked on a weight loss program but had I not the sizing system was right.

19/11/2018

Lovely coat but very big and bulky. The design could do with a drawstring inside for the waist. This would allow you to pull it in at the middle and may help give a more flattering shape. Unfortunately I have returned the item as it was just too big for me. I have requested a size smaller but it hasn't arrived yet so I can't comment on whether that is any better.

19/11/2018

Lovely jacket, went up a size but it was too big, so got correct size, fits well comfortable and lovely colour

19/11/2018

Have sent this back for a refund. Sleeve are too long you can fold them back but then you lose the button detail!!

18/11/2018

Excellent

15/11/2018

Very comfortable, warm, & hopefully waterproof jacket. Fits a little on the large side, but leaves plenty of room for layering under it. I love it!

15/11/2018

Arrived exactly as I expected, fits well. Warm and waterproof.

12/11/2018

Gorgeous coat, I am usually a 14 so that's what I ordered but it was too big so had to return it. I would have liked to re-order a 12 but, sadly, it was also way too long. I could imagine a 12 being a better fit, but not 5 inches shorter! It's not the first time I have had to return clothes to Weirdfish due to them being too long, I was especially disappointed about the macaroni sweatshirts cus I really love the materials and design, but they come to mid thigh on me! I am 5ft 1", so not unusually short, I know lots of women of similar height. Clearly all their models are 5ft 10" at least. Please please Weirdfish, add a petite option!

10/11/2018

Wonderfully warm coat without feeling heavy. Definitely waterproof! Good quality fabric. Would recommend this coat wholeheartedly

09/11/2018

Love this coat. Comfortable and warm.

08/11/2018

Only worn twice, I'm prepared for the cold and wet weather that we will be getting soon!

08/11/2018

A well made waterproof jacket that really is waterproof. The hood is lined and padded too, making it very cosy.

04/11/2018

Beautiful jacket just waiting for the rain so I can wear it

11/10/2018

The wadding makes this feel warmer than it looks while not being too bulky. However, it did hang as shown on the online pic, sticking out at the back towards the bottom. The zip is good and chunky and does the job of fastening without fiddling with the big buttons.

10/10/2018

Coat arrived well within the estimated delivery time. I have already been able to test its waterproofing (dog walking in a deluge) and am impressed by the warmth of the coat. The pockets are roomy, though I could live without the Velcro fastening on the inside pocket (I can easily unpick and remove it though. I am extremely pleased with this purchase, not to mention the discount offered on the day I shopped! Well done Weird Fish.

09/10/2018